ICE Racing: Taylor Returns to the Top Step During Round Six at Thruxton

ICE Racing

ICE Racing Update

Taylor Mackenzie reclaimed his position on the top step of the podium for the sixth round of the 2016 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Thruxton.

The current series Championship leader dueled with both Ian Hutchinson and Josh Elliot of rival team, Tyco BMW, for the most part of the 13 lap Superstock 1000cc race. The leadership changed amongst the three riders throughout the first half, with Keith Farmer making a move to split the pack up with four laps remaining. Mackenzie saw his chance and broke away from the class, emerging victorious and crossing the chequered flag with a time of 16:54.585 ahead of Farmer. The Scotsman extends his lead to 133 at the top of the Championship standings 23 points ahead of Hutchinson.

Pirelli National Superstock 1000 Championship standings after Thruxton

  1. Taylor Mackenzie (Buildbase BMW Motorrad) 133
  2. Ian Hutchinson (Tyco BMW) 110
  3. Keith Farmer (Quay Garage Racing) 106

The super-fast 2.36 mile circuit is a favourite for team mates Lee Jackson and Richard Cooper, who were both looking to further progress this weekend. After crashing out at Snetterton the number #47 rider was looking to make amends keeping a keen eye on the Championship top six. race one saw him safely cross the line in the top ten in 8th position, adding crucial points to his tally. An unfortunate collision with the curb in race two resulted in Cooperman crashing out of the race.

Lincolnshire rider Lee had his best run of the season to date during qualifying and race one where he was keeping pace with the front runners. A mechanical fault with Stuart Easton’s machine and subsequent crash meant the race was red flagged, to be resumed once the track was clear. With a no change of tyre rule imposed, and a delay in proceedings due to rain the #14 rider’s spell of racing at the front was short lived due tyre difficulties during the 12 lap sprint, causing Lee to retire from the race. Race two presented a change of fortunes for the youngster and a strong ride secured 10th position.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Thruxton:

  1. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) 181
  2. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 166
  3. Jason O’Halloran (Honda Racing) 146
  4. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) 135
  5. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) 118
  6. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 109
  7. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) 107
  8. Richard Cooper (Buildbase BMW Motorrad) 106
  9. Luke Mossey (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) 97
  10. Peter Hickman (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 96

To keep up to date with ICE Racing news, please follow us on Twitter at @ICE_Coding



Join our newsletter

Where did you hear about us?

Submitting your details indicates that you have read and agree to our privacy policy and cookie policy.